傲龄坊-佳颐长者活动中心

背景

多年来,温哥华唐人街缺乏足够的长者自由聚会的地方,导致长者孤立,与社区隔离。 再者,唐人街安全、卫生问题和缺乏无障碍设施加剧了这种孤立。 许多长者无奈地困在家中,缺乏社交机会,无法参加社区内有意义的活动。 为了应对这些挑战,佳颐中心于唐人街中文学校建立「傲龄坊-长者活动中心」,提供一个安全舒适的空间,让长者可以在社区内社交和享受活动。 我们的计划旨在促进长者之间的归属感和社区感,提升他们日常生活中的幸福感和尊严。 通过这个计划,我们希望提升长者积极与邻舍的互动,并以自豪、满足和快乐享受他们的晚年生活。

远景: 建立长者友善社区

目标:

1)提供一个互相支持的环境,让长者可以与邻舍联系、分享经验并建立友谊,以减少社交孤立。

2)提高长者的生活质素,特别是在身心健康方面。

3)促进长者获得各类型社区服务的途径。

4)为居住在唐人街的华裔长者提供语言和文化上适当的服务


服务日期及时间: 由5月9日开始,逢星期四 早上10时到下午3时


地点: 华埠片打东街499号

教育讲座
  • 中医资讯
  • 身体及情绪健康
  • 自我关顾
  • 佳頤厨坊
  • 生死教育
  • 智能手机入門
防跌运动及相关资讯
  • 防跌评估测试
  • 强肌防跌运动班


兴趣小组
  • 麻雀玩乐
  • 益智桌上游戏
  • 卡拉OK
  • 艺术手工
  • 乒乓手眼协调健体训练班* (或需另加收费)
社区服务导航
  • 翻译及传译
  • 个案转介及服务导航
  • 服务转介
  • 护老者支援计划
  • 本地社区资源

May 23, 2024

我们很高兴有义工帮助唐人街的长者社区中心。 自五月初开放以来,附近的华裔居民经常来参加我们提供的各种活动。 昨天(23日),我们的一位义工 Shirley 主持了一个兴趣小组,让长者们尝试了一下酒精水墨艺术,这是一种使用酒精墨直接滴入适当介质的流体艺术技术。 参与者无需任何经验就可以进行的有趣绘画和艺术创作方式。


2024年5月16日

傲龄坊社区活動中心刚进行了第一天的全天运作。 长者们在和谐的粉彩班上展示了他们的第一幅作品。 乒乓球义工教练Howard也向参加者传授了一些入门技巧。 下午其他长者们也加入了了第一期的防跌运动班及獻唱了多手懷舊老歌。 盼望更多独居长者能每星期到来参与我们特意为他们而设的社区活动。


5月9日 - 開放日

傲龄坊社区中心于今天(9 日)开始运营,来自不同 SRO 的长者们于上午 10:00 至下午 3:00 之间陆续抵达。 他们根据个人喜好,参与不同的中心设备,包括乒乓球、麻将、棋盘游戏和卡拉 OK等。 他们都表示能够有一个属于他们的活动中心很开心,并表示下周四还会再来参与讲座及兴趣小组。

加入「傲龄坊」佳颐长者活动中心需先登记成为会员。 请点击下方进行注册。 中心职员将与您联系以确认您的会员资格。

error: Content is protected !!

Gaia Cares Seniors Community Hub

Background

Over the years, Chinatown in Vancouver has lacked adequate gathering spaces for seniors, leaving them isolated and reluctant to participate in community activities. Security concerns, poor hygiene, and a lack of accessible facilities exacerbate this isolation. Many seniors find themselves confined to their homes, lacking the opportunity to socialize and participate in meaningful activities outside of their immediate surroundings. To address these challenges, we are establishing a day program to provide a safe and comfortable space where seniors can socialize and enjoy activities within the community. Our program aims to foster a sense of belonging and community among seniors, promoting happiness and dignity in their everyday lives. Through this initiative, we seek to empower seniors to actively engage with their neighbors and enjoy their golden years with pride, fulfillment and joy.

Goal: Develop an age-friendly community

Community Garden Launch Ceremony on September 19, 2024

Objectives:

1) Provide a supportive environment where seniors can connect with peers, share experiences, and build friendships to combat social isolation.

2) Enhance the quality of life of seniors, especially on physical and mental well-being

3) Facilitate access to supportive community services.

4) Offer linguistically and culturally appropriate services for Chinese seniors living in Chinatown.


Date and Time: Every Thursday (Starting from May 9) 10am-3pm


Address: 499 East Pender St, Vancouver, BC V6A 1V2

EDUCATIONAL TALKS
  • Traditional Medicine TCM
  • Physical & Emotional Health
  • Self-Care
  • Gaia Kitchen
  • Life and Death
  • Introduction to smartphone
FALL PREVENTION
  • Fall Risk Assessment
  • Fall Prevention Exercise


INTEREST GROUPS
  • Mahjong
  • Table Games for cognitive training
  • Karaoke
  • Art and Craft
  • Table Tennis training for eye hand coordination* (extra charges may apply)
SYSTEM NAVIGATION
  • Translation / Interpretation
  • Case Management
  • Service Referral
  • Caregiver Support
  • Community Resources

Video highlights of Seniors Community Hub


June 27, 2024

It is excited to announce Gaia Care is building a Community Garden for seniors living in Chinatown of Vancouver. With the aid of Uncle Kau who is a retired gardener and SRO resident in Chinatown, Volunteer and staff of Gaia Cares learn how to use different gardening tools and spray herbicide in a safe way. Amy, one of our volunteer, said she learned gardening only when she was a primary school student. She feels it is a wonderful experience to pick up shovel and hoe and take part in this project.


May 23, 2024

We are proud to have volunteers helping Senior Community Hub in Chinatown. Since its opening on early May, Chinese residents living nearby come regularly and enjoy different activities we provided. Today(23rd) one of our volunteer, Shirley hosted an interest group and let seniors have a taste on Alcoholic Ink Art which is a fluid art technique that uses alcohol ink by dropping them directly to the appropriate medium. It is a fun way to paint and create art with no prior experience required.


May 16, 2024

Senior Community Hub just had a first full day of operation. Seniors created their first painting at our harmonious pastel class. Our volunteer instructor Howard also passed on some beginner techniques to the table tennis participants. Other seniors also joined our Fall Prevention class and enjoyed singing many oldies songs at the Karaoke corner. We hope more seniors will join us every Thursday!


May 9, 2024 - Opening Day

Senior Community Hub starts operating today (9th) and seniors from different SROs arrive there in between 10:00am-3:00pm. They play table tennis, board games and karaoke. They enjoy much and express they will come on next Thursday again.

Membership is required to join the Seniors Community Hub. Please click below to register. Our staff will contact you to confirm your membership.

error: Content is protected !!