关于我们

佳颐中心的诞生源于一股热诚,致力让长者安享晚年及支援照顾他们的家人朋友。  

在2018年,一群居住在温哥华而又志同道合的人士,致力为大温地区居住的华裔和其他族裔长者及关顾他们的家人提供迫切需要的服务,目的是提倡社区对配合文化和语言需要的服务,以减轻日渐年老带来的重担。 

深受安大略省的颐康中心为长者及其家人的创新护理服务模式所启发,这群人士寻求颐康中心的专业知识,为长者及其家人建立本地服务。相信及秉持社区服务百花齐放的理念,他们获得对提供卓越服务的珍贵洞见和社区外展的专业知识,由颐康中心创办人王裕佳医生的支持及指导下,一起创立佳颐中心。

佳颐中心致力向家庭及社区关顾者推广身心健康的教育及专业培训。通过教学讲座﹑知识课程和工作坊,帮助参与者深入了解家庭成员及关顾者对照顾老年人所需要的关怀﹑知识和技能。各种活动和服务让参与者能够获得处理问题和应付因照顾长者所带来的复杂事项。同时,我们的工作坊致力让参与者认识家庭成员及关顾者身心方面的健康,预防关顾者出现心力交瘁的情况。   

除了在社区举办文化和语言上适合的活动和服务,佳颐中心也会尽力在将来为长者提供符合特别需要的居住环境及其他设施。  

我们邀请您到访我们的 关顾者线上教学专页 , 通过为家庭关顾者所提供的网上视频来学到更多关顾他人的知识。 您也可以浏览我们的 服务项目专页 以获取有关举办的活动及工作坊的资讯。

ABOUT US

Gaia Community Care and Wellness Society (Gaia Cares) was born out of a passion for comforting seniors in their advancing years and supporting the family and others who care for them.  

It began in 2018 when a group of like-minded individuals set out to create much-needed services in Greater Vancouver for Chinese and other ethnic seniors and family caregivers. They aimed to address unmet needs for culturally and linguistically sensitive health and wellness services that would ease the burdens of aging. 

Inspired by the innovative seniors’ care models of Yee Hong Centre for Geriatric Care in Ontario, the group sought Yee Hong’s expertise to establish local services for seniors and families. With faith and trust to “let every idea blossom,” they gained valuable insights into best practices and community outreach expertise. With support and guidance from Yee Hong founder, Dr. Joseph Wong, Gaia Community Care and Wellness Society was created.

Gaia Cares is committed to advancing education in health and wellness and specialized training for family and community caregivers. Through instructional seminars, courses, and workshops, Gaia Cares helps participants explore the breadth and depth of knowledge and skills that families and caregivers need to provide compassionate care for seniors. Programs and services cover a range of topics that build an understanding of age-related issues and enable participants to develop skills and strategies to cope with the complexities of caregiving. Gaia Cares’ workshops also address the emotional, physical, and mental health stresses that family members and caregivers experience that often lead to “caregiver burnout.”   

In addition to delivering culturally and linguistically appropriate programs and services in the community, Gaia Cares also endeavours to provide specially adapted residential accommodation and other facilities in the foreseeable future.  

We invite you to visit our Caregiver Online Learning Page to learn more about caregiving through our growing library of videos and audio recordings and our Programs Page for details of upcoming programs and workshops.